Author Topic: Interview: "Regarding Eurovision, I'm a fan of the phenomenon" says Nico  (Read 3381 times)

Offline Relyana

• Webmaster
  • Topic Author
    • Eurovision Forum | ESC Vibes

Before heading to the UK preview party, Romanian representative at the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest, Nico was kind enough to answer some questions exclusively for escvibes.com.

When did you decide to pursue a career in music and what does your career mean to you at this moment?

Ever since I was a child I played with the vocals of many melodies that were in fashion at that period of time (the 80's).... of course it was all just for fun at the beginning
On the advice of my father, a passionate music fan, I began to take this art seriously and I studied Canto classes for 3 years at the Popular Art Music School in my hometown, Ploiesti. Over time I have evolved, I have been able to gain valuable experience and, with a lot of work and God's help, I have managed to reach a high level of performance skills, enough to convince me that it was about time to try a professional music career.
It wasn't easy to get noticed on the Romanian music scene which is why my acknowledgement didn't come until the age of 30.
At this moment my music career has a high meaning for me and despite the fact that I have accomplished a lot in my career, I will never stop perfecting myself in order to reach an even higher level.

Does music have age ?

In my opinion music does not have age and it never has. Of course most of the music listeners are young but there are plenty of them who aren't in their first youth and keep enjoying the beauty of the music.

Are there any people that helped your career, people to whom you are grateful ?

Of course, there are people that supported me morally and financially, especially at the beginning but I would like to mention, first of all, my father who was my number one fan.